Loot Crate – November 2015

COMBAT

This theme made Pete and I go: “Huh, I think we missed seeing the clues/emails about this theme”. The cool thing about Loot Crate is that they send an email to all the current subscribers dropping the new month’s theme and giving hints as to what franchises may feature in that month. In doing this, they give their subscribers the chance to skip that month if it’s not to their fancy, without having to cancel the whole subscription and forgetting to resubscribe next month.

Very handy, both for them making the money off of us, and us who want more LOOT.

The hints, looking back, showed some items from Street Fighter, Fallout 4, and The Hunger Games. All of which were “meh” products to one if not both Pete and I.


Cute but Deadly Magnet Set

11 magnets feature 7 of Blizzard’s most memorable villains. Notably Kawaii, they include Kerrigan, Arthas and Diablo – with logo magnets also for Warcraft, Star Craft and of course Diablo. I don’t personally play/recognise these – but Pete got a kick out of them and they’re still decorating our fridge door.

Fallout 4 Vault Boy Bobble Head

I love me a good bobble head. Both Pete and I aren’t on the Fallout buzz, I’m not sure either of us ever have been, but this is a geek culture icon – an exclusive – AND a bobble head. I loved it. Now holding a place on our bookshelf-turned-figurine shelf, he gets a lot of love by way of cat.

TMNT Shredder Sunglasses

Do you remember the millenium? Where every family seemed to have purchased the 2000 glasses that were “humorously” over-sized? Well, I do. They were great, mostly because I was 7 at the time. I don’t really have any other reason. Pete and I hated these. They’re cheap, bound to break after one wear (we wouldn’t know for sure) and sitting in the back of our closet waiting for our friends to start having kids that need something to entertain them for 5 minutes.

The Hunger Games Mockingjay Pin

Exactly as described above. Have I mentioned that there is a monthly pin that comes with your subscription box? Some people but them on their shoulder-bags, or their caps, or their vests, though I imagine most are hiding them away in a draw (not like me at all, I swear /s) never to be seen again. This pin was NOT the monthly pin, it was in addition to. It’s also sitting on the shelf of things-to-one-day-be-gifted.

20161017_225939
Apologies for the spook to the left. It appears we caught an entity on film. Will have to get out my Pop Vinyl Ghostbusters car to deal with this. Also included in this picture are items from similar style sub. box, Nerd Block.

Cute but Deadly Vinyl Mysteries Figures

A mystery box inside a mystery box! What could be more enticing? Almost like the Never Ending Birthday Present recently uploaded to YouTube. This is a box that’s labelled like all the rest, and 1/9 different figurines could be in there. We managed to get the Orange Merloc which was a Loot Crate Exclusive.

Street Fighter Hyper Looting Comic Book

Pete likes street fighter. Well, at least more than I do. And I like it not-at-all. I didn’t read this comic. But it was an exclusive. Meaning written specifically for us subscribers. This was a cool aspect, and a cool insight – knowing we may get loot like this in future.

Overall, a box that had we been more “onto it” we would have skipped – so I can’t fault Loot Crate as the items fit the theme exactly as we knew they would. It’s just a shame we didn’t so much care for the theme itself.

Regards,

Alex

2 thoughts on “Loot Crate – November 2015

Leave a Reply

